Drain Commissioner

Anthony "Tony" Newman


Monday - Thursday: 7am - 5pm Friday: Closed

James P. Capitan Center
149 East Corunna Ave L-1
Corunna, MI 48817

P: 989.743.2398
F: 989.743.2474

The Drain Commissioner is a statutory officer and is responsible for administration of the Michigan Drain Code, Michigan Subdivision Control Act, Michigan Lake Level Act, and the Michigan Inland Lake Improvement Act. The Drain Commissioner is elected to a 4 year term by the voters of Shiawassee County on a partisan ballot in the general November election.

Looking Glass River Informational Video 

Map of Proposed Drainage District Revisions for Looking Glass River

June 2018 Meetings

June 19, 2018

Wolf Creek Notice Board Meeting

June 7, 2018

Red Cedar River Drainage Board Meeting

June 4, 2018

Maple River Drainage Board Meeting

Maple River Map- Gratiot Removal

June 1, 2018

Misteguay Creek Drainage Board Meeting

May 2018 Drain Meetings

May 30, 2018

Williamston, Locke, and Perry Board Meeting

Randall Board Meeting

May 22, 2018

Youngs Drainage Board Meeting

May 15, 2018

Looking Glass River Drainage Board Meeting

April 2018 Drain Meetings

April 24, 2018

Maple River Drainage Board Meeting

Looking Glass River Drainage Board Meeting

April 18, 2018

South Br of Bad River Pine Creek IC Drainage Board Meeting

April 13, 2018

Red Cedar Drainage Board Meeting




Anthony "Tony" Newman – Drain Commissioner
Jenna Jullie – Deputy Drain Commissioner
Mark Stead – Drain Maintenance Coordinator
Joe Taphouse – Drain Maintenance Supervisor
Katherine Keith – Administrative Assistant

Michigan Drain Code
FEMA Maps 

  • Login